Categories
Uncategorized

Week 7

Week 7 the boom of modernity

In this week’s reading we witnessed the growth of Latin America including its new industrial economics that had a significant impact on everyday life. They insisted that children remain longer in school and that good housewives carefully manage the family unit. As in today’s society that image is completely different. Women are able to work and provide for the family . We are moving away more and more from a ”housewife” society which is an improvement to society. One thing that stood out to me in the reading is how latin american countries could cheaply produce certain valuable commodities that were in demand in the industrial north. Through this it improved the Latin American economy and overall growing with agricultural wealth. One quote that stood out to me in this reading was about Diaz’ interview. Diaz stated “It is a mistake to suppose that the future of democracy in Mexico has been endangered by the long continuance in office of one President,” he said quietly. “I can say sincerely that office has not corrupted my political ideals and that I believe democracy to be the one true, just principle of government, although in practice it is possible only to highly developed peoples.” In this quote Diaz’ does not understand how the president could only be in power for a certain amount of time. In my idea, I think that an autocratic government can work sometimes but not all the time. A democracy is the best fit for a government to thrive in my opinion.

Leave a comment